Profile ID#[0000008056]







Total photos: 3

Slideshow  
[Send message]   Access closed for non members
Username Elle
Gender Female
State/Province Ontario
Marital status Single
Height 5'2" (157cm)
Education Post Graduate
Known languages (Multiple selections allowed) English, French, Spanish
Job International Development
Hobby Reading, Traveling, Foodie, Languages, Music, Islam
About Originally from Toronto, presently living in Ottawa for work.

I attend halaqa, tajweed class, and 2 different Arabic classes per week, plus reading on various Islamic topics. I pray 5x a day, including at work.

Practicing but not conservative - I would call myself a progressive Muslim.

I care about social justice and am seeking a partner who also does, especially when it comes to racial justice - someone who wants to be part of improving issues that we have in the Muslim community and in society at large. Looking for someone who is not homophobic and recognizes that as Muslims we should be against oppression, not perpetuating it. Seeking someone who sees things in shades of grey, not black and white.

Food: Caribbean, Indian, Vietnamese, Ethiopian, Somali and Afghani. Music: reggae, r&b, afrosoca and zouk.

I converted as a teen. I am ideally looking for a convert who can differentiate culture and religion, though a ‘born Muslim’ could be a good fit as well, especially if they grew up in Canada/US and have friends from many different backgrounds.

We can have different interests but you would be a great match if:

• you are on your deen, not too conservative in your views and practice of Islam, but practicing, learning and growing and open-minded

• you’re ambitious and goal-oriented

• you love food, can cook or are learning to cook, and like to live a healthy lifestyle (work out, play sports etc)

• in a relationship you are willing to communicate and compromise and try to be patient to work through challenges

• you like to travel

• you are committed to giving back, volunteering, using your skills to better your community and/or address social injustice particularly racial injustice

I am looking for that person who will in time become my best friend, someone I can grow with as a person. I am looking for marriage in the next year or so.
Seeking marital status (Multiple selections allowed) Single, Divorced, Widowed
Seeking children (Multiple selections allowed) None
Seeking smoking (Multiple selections allowed) Non-Smoker
Seeking drinking (Multiple selections allowed) Never drink
Seeking education (Multiple selections allowed) Some College, Some University, Bachelors Degree, Post Graduate, Technical Certification
Seeking Islamic Classification (Multiple selections allowed) Sunni, Other
Seeking age 27 - 38
[Send message]